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FINGERPRINT GUIDELINES: FINGERPRINT INSTRUCTIONS FOR KANSAS TEACHER LICENSURE

Fingerprint Requirement for Licensure

The Kansas State Board of Education adopted regulation changes regarding requirements for a
fingerprint-based records check. These changes will affect veteran educators who have never
submitted fingerprints as part of any previous application for a Kansas certificate or license issued
by the Kansas State Department of Education (KSDE).

Fingerprint Requirement
If you are submitting any of the following, you will be required to submit a complete set of fingerprints,
and a $57 fingerprint processing fee:

First Kansas certificate or license

Renewal of an expired Kansas certificate or license

If the applicant has never submitted fingerprints as part of any previous application for a Kansas
certificate or license, submit fingerprints* at the time of the next license application

Time requirements to consider

If this is your first license or your license is expired, make sure you submit your license application
and fee no later than six months after you submit the fingerprint card* and fee or you will be
required to submit a new card and fee.

* You must use the Kansas preformatted card (FBI, FD258). Only one card is required.
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Fingerprint Instructions

Step 1

Schedule your
appointment:

[ ] callyour local law
enforcement agency
or fingerprint entity to
schedule an appointment.
[ ] Ask if they use Livescan
with electronic submission
directly to Kansas Bureau
of Investigation (KBI).
Please note, this option only
available in Kansas.

If yes: Skip step 2 of the
Livescan section of
this document.

If no: Confirm that
the agency has
the Kansas
Preformatted Card
(FBI, FD 258)* finger
print card.

If the fingerprint
entity does not
have the required
form (available
online here").

Step 2

What to bring with you
to your appointment:

[ ] Blank fingerprint packet
attached only needed
if Livescan electronic
submissionis not available.

[ ] Atleast one form of
picture ID.

[l

Background Waiver Form
(available online here?).

[ ] Check or cash: Agencies
may charge a fee to take
your prints. This is separate
from the $57 charged by
KBI to conduct background
checks.

|:| $57 check or money order,

made payable to KSDE. This

fee needs to be sent to KSDE
in the same envelope with
your completed fingerprint
card.*

[ ] DO NOT COMBINE the

background fee and the

license application fee.

[ ] Bring a pre-addressed,
stamped envelope large

enough to accommodate the

fingerprint card.

Mailing address:

KSDE

Teacher Licensure

900 SW Jackson Str Ste 102
Topeka KS 66612-1212

Step 3

During your
appointment:

[ ] Complete the personal
information on the
fingerprint card, as directed
by the officer taking your
prints.

[ ] Have the officer place the
following into the stamped,
pre-addressed envelope,
seal it and mail it directly to
KSDE:

1. Completed card.
2. $57 background fee.

3. Completed background
waiver form.

1 KSDE Fingerprint Requirement for Licensure webpage: https://www.ksde.gov/Agency/Division-of-Learning-Services/Teacher-Licensure-TL/Fingerprint-Information

2 Kansas Bureau of Investigation. (n.d.). Revised 03/2023 Waiver and FBI Privacy Act Statement with ID verification.
https://www.kansas.gov/kbi/info/docs/pdf/Waiver%20and%20FBI%20Privacy%20Form%20with%20id%20verification%20(NCPA%20REQUIRED)%2008.2023.pdf
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Livescan Instructions

Step 1

Schedule
appointment:

[ ] callyour local
law enforcement
agency or
fingerprint entity
to schedule an
appointment.

[ ] Askif they
use Livescan
with electronic
submission
directly to the
KBI. Please note,
this option only
available in
Kansas.

If yes: Move to
Step 2.

Step 2

What to
bring with
you to your
appointment:

[ ] Atleast one form
of picture ID.

[ ] Livescan
instruction
attached.

[ ] Background
Waiver Form
(available online
here?).

[ ] Check or cash:
Agencies may
charge a fee to
take your prints.
This is separate
from the $57
charged by
KBl to conduct
background
checks.

Step 3

During your
appointment:

[ ] Complete
the personal
information, as
directed by the
officer taking
your prints.

[ ] Provide the
officer taking
your prints with
the KSDE code:
902KS1600

Step 4

After your
appointment:

[] Loginto Kansas
Licensure
Application
System (KLAS)3*
If you are a new
user you will need
to register.

[ ] Click the
Fingerprint
Payment Portal.
4. Fill out

applicant
form.

5. Upload signed
waiver.

[ ] Returnto
welcome screen.

[] Print to review
data that will
be submitted to
KSDE.

[ ] Pay (button will
appear below
when 1 and 2 are
complete)

[ ] Print Report
[ ] Log off

* DO NOT PAY BEFORE YOUR PRINTS ARE SUBMITTED. Only pay online if you are using
Livescan for your fingerprints.

3 KSDE. KLAS User Authentication. (n.d.). https://appspublic.ksde.gov/KLAS_userAuth/
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Fingerprinting Information
Applicant

The following documents are required to be taken with you to the fingerprinting agency. Failure to provide any of
these documents may result in refusal to have fingerprints taken.

Government issued photo 1D

Waiver and Privacy Statement

Fingerprinting Information document

9x12 stamped envelope addressed to (to mail waiver statement back to your agency):
Mailing address:

KSDE

Teacher Licensure

900 SW Jackson Str Ste 102
Topeka KS 66612-1212

Fingerprinting Agency

Please verify identity with government issued photo ID. If needed, complete the “To Be Completed By the
Fingerprinting Agency” portion of the Waiver and Privacy Statement found on page 3. Please place the waiver
statement in the provided envelope and mail.

Military ID's: THIS IS FOR ACTIVE MILITARY SPOUSES ONLY. Please enter this in the MISC dropdown box of your
livescan. This is important for billing reasons.

Branch:

ID Number:

This agency has been approved by the KBI. Please submit completed fingerprint submission via
livescan.

Fingerprint Card Type

42 Civil - State and Federal Identification Fee

Reason Fingerprinted:
82 - ADAM WALSH

Processing Fee Code:
Fee Billed to Agency

Originating or Agency Account Number (AAN):
902KS1600 - KANSAS STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

*If you have any questions, please call the KBI Ident Unit at (785) 296-4038.
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Print the KBI Background Waiver Form (available online here?) to take with you to your scheduled
appointment.

WAIVER AGREEMENT
AND
FBI PRIVACY ACT STATEMENT

Fingerprint-Based Record Checks for Noncriminal Justice Purposes

I hereby authorize (Name of Authorized Recipient) to submit a set of my
fingerprints to the Kansas Bureau of Investigation (KBI) for the purpose of identifying me and accessing and reviewing
Kansas and/or national criminal history records that may pertain to me. The fingerprints are authorized to be submitted under
the authority of the National Child Protection Act/VVolunteers for Children Act (NCPA/VCA) explained in Public Law (Pub.
L.) 103-209 and Pub. L. 105-251. Pursuant to K.S.A. 22-4701 et seq., K.S.A. 22-5001, K.S.A 75-712i, and 2022 Kansas
Laws Ch. 92, 8 1 (Senate Sub. for H.B. 2495), the Authorized Recipient may obtain my criminal history record information
for noncriminal justice purposes. By signing this waiver, it is my intent to authorize release to the above-referenced
Authorized Recipient of any Kansas and/or national criminal history record that may pertain to me. | further understand that,
if applicable, the Authorized Recipient may choose to deny me unsupervised access to children, the elderly, or individuals
with disabilities until the criminal history background check is completed.

I understand that, upon my request, the Authorized Recipient will provide me a copy of the criminal history background
report, received on me, for the purpose of challenging the accuracy and completeness of any information contained in any
such report. |1 may be afforded a reasonable amount of time to correct or complete the criminal history record (or decline to
do so) before the Authorized Recipient makes a final decision about my status as an employee, volunteer or contractor, or my
eligibility for any pertinent license, certification or registration, or adoption. See 28 CFR 50.12(b).

I understand that officials receiving the results of the criminal history record check are to use those results only for authorized
purposes and are prohibited from retaining or disseminating such results in violation of federal statute, regulation or
executive order, or rule, procedure or standard established by the National Crime Prevention and Privacy Compact Council.
See 5 United States Code (U.S.C.) 552a(b); 28 U.S.C. 534(h);34 U.S.C. 40316, Article 1V(c); 28 CFR 20.21(c), 20.33(d),
906.2(d); and 2022Kansas Laws Ch. 92, § 1 (Senate Sub. for H.B. 2495).

I understand that my fingerprints will be retained by the KBI and/or the Federal Bureau of Investigation if the Authorized
Recipient participates in the state or national Rap Back program for continued suitability for being an employee, volunteer or
contractor, or eligibility for any license, certification, registration, or adoption. The Rap Back program will notify the
Authorized Recipient when there are updates to my criminal history record. Once | am no longer employed, a volunteer
contractor, licensed, certified, registered, or seeking adoption, the Authorized Recipient shall request my fingerprints be
removed from the state and/or national Rap Back program.

Kansas Bureau of Investigation. Revised 03/2023 Waiver and FBI Privacy Act Statement with ID verification.
https://www.kansas.gov/kbi/info/docs/pdf/Waiver%20and%20FBI%20Privacy%20Form%20with%20id%20verification%20(NCPA%20REQUIRED)%2008.2023.pdf
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Complete the personal information (see highlighted areas on the example below) on the fingerprint card, as
directed by the officer taking your prints. MNU Armed Forces area is only necessary for currently serving
military or their spouse.

Kansas State Department of Education | www.ksde.gov 9
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900 S.W. Jackson Street, Suite 600
Topeka, Kansas 66612-1212

(785) 296-3203

www.ksde.gov/board

SUCCESS DEFINED

A successful Kansas high
school graduate has the

* Academic preparation,
= Cognitive preparation,

e Technical skills,

* Employability skills and
 Civic engagement

to be successfulin
postsecondary education,
in the attainment of an
industry recognized
certification or in the
workforce, without the need
for remediation.

OUTCOMES

 Social-emotional growth

* Kindergarten readiness

¢ Individual Plan of Study

» Civic engagement

* Academically prepared for
postsecondary

* High school graduation

» Postsecondary success
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Kansans
CAN

Kansas State Board of Education

BOARD MEMBERS

DISTRICT 1 DISTRICT 2 DISTRICT 3 DISTRICT 4 DISTRICT 5
Danny Zeck Melanie Haas Michelle Dombrosky Connie O'Brien Cathy Hopkins
Vice Chair Melanie.Haas@ksde. Michelle.Dombrosky@ Connie.O’brien@ksde. Chair
Danny.Zeck@ksde.gov gov ksde.gov gov Cathy.Hopkins@ksde.
gov
DISTRICT 6 DISTRICT 7 DISTRICT 8 DISTRICT 9 DISTRICT 10
Dr. Beryl A. New Dennis Hershberger Betty Arnold Jim Porter Debby Potter
Beryl.New@ksde.gov Dennis.Hershberger@  Betty.Arnold@ksde.gov ~ Jim.Porter@ksde.gov Debby.Potter@ksde.gov
ksde.gov
MISSION

To prepare Kansas students for lifelong success through rigorous, quality academic instruction,
career training and character development according to each student'’s gifts and talents.

VISION

Kansas leads the world in the success of each student.

MOTTO

Kansans Can

COMMISSIONER OF

EDUCATION

Dr. Randy Watson

Randy.Watson@ksde.gov

DEPUTY COMMISSIONER
Division of Fiscal and Administrative Services

Dr. Frank Harwood

Frank.Harwood@ksde.gov

DEPUTY COMMISSIONER

Division of Learning Services

Dr. Renee Nugent

Renee.Nugent@ksde.gov

The Kansas State Department of Education does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin,
sex, disability or age in its programs and activities and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated
youth groups. The following person has been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies:
KSDE General Counsel, Office of General Counsel, KSDE, Landon State Office Building, 900 S.W. Jackson, Suite 102,
Topeka, KS 66612, (785) 296-3201.

Kansas leads the world in the success of each student.

July 1, 2025




For more information, contact:

Teacher Licensure
(785) 296-2288
tlalicensure@ksde.gov
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Kansas State Department of Education
900 S.W. Jackson Street, Suite 102
Topeka, Kansas 66612-1212

www.ksde.gov



